awordfromstephanie

Art, Ramblings, and Thoughts.

Week 2

Leave a comment

Hello! I hope everyone is doing well in our class 🙂

This week’s assignments and lectures had given us some insight into what we will be doing for the rest of the semester in this Web Design course. And from what I can tell, I’m looking forward to it. A long time ago when I had my own blog through Xanga, I use to customize my page all the time using coding. At the time I never really knew what I was doing, but I really enjoyed it. It was like a puzzle for me. After completing the short assignments this week with doing HTML, I remembered how much I liked it!

Something that I wasn’t too familiar with that we learned this week was FTP. As you recall (for those in my class) FTP stands for file transport protocol. FTP allows us to transfer files from a host to a server over the internet. For this class, we’ll be using Dreamweaver to accomplish this. After reviewing the lectures and additional research, I have a better understanding of FTP.

We also reviewed links this week as well. There are types of links- absolutes and relative  links. An absolute link is used to link to a page other than your own. Whereas a relative link corresponds to the page they are on and depends on the directory structure of your site. We also learned different types of image formats- JPEG (joint photographic experts group) and GIF (graphic interchange format).

In addition to these concepts, we also had some reading material that went over the importance of color. Obviously while creating websites, we will have to think of color choices. There are a million articles and research studies out there that explain how color can influence our way of feeling and thinking. The associations we make with color is very important to consider while creating websites and other forms of artwork.

I hope everyone has a great week!

Author: awordfromstephanie

"Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You." -Dr. Seuss

Leave a Reply

